A workspace is a collection of editor tabs that group scripts or statements together. A workspace stores the name of each editor tab, the cursor position for each editor, the selection and the statement history.
Each connection profile is associated with a workspace. If no workspace is explicitely chosen for a connection profile,
a workspace with the name
Default is used. If not specified otherwise, workspaces are stored
in the configuration directory.
A workspace file has the extension
.wksp and is a regular ZIP archive that can be opened with
any ZIP tool. It contains one text file for each editor in the workspace and some property files that
store additional settings like the divider location, the Max. Rows value or the
selected catalog and schema of the DbExplorer.
It is recommended to use a different workspace for each connection profile.
Workspaces can be used to reduce the number of editor tabs being used. You can create different workspaces for different topics you work on. One workspace that contains queries to monitor a database, one workspace that contains everything related to a specific feature you are working on, one workspace to initialize a new environment and so on.
The workspace is saved when the window using that workspace is closed. If the option "Auto-Save workspace" is enabled the workspace is automatically saved when a SQL statement is executed.
To create a copy of the current workspace, use→ After saving the workspace, the new workspace becomes the current workspace (the old one will not be changed). You will be asked if the new workspace should be the default profile's workspace, so that if you connect using that connection profile the new workspace will be loaded automatically.
If the new workspace is not made the profile's workspace, the next time you connect using that connection profile, the old workspace file will be loaded.
If you chose not to assign the new workspace right after saving it, you can later assign the currently loaded workspace to be used by the current connection profile using:→ .
This feature can be used if you have a workspace that contains statements that you want to use for a new topic, but you don't want to lose the original set of statements (that were used for a previous work).
If you want to load an existing workspace e.g. because you want to work on a different topic, you can use→ Again you are asked if you want to use the newly loaded workspace as the default workspace.
Workspaces loaded through this will be put into the→ menu so that you can quickly switch between workspaces you often use.
If you have a workspace loaded other than the default workspace of the current connection profile, you can quickly re-load the default workspace through→ If you do that, the current workspace will be saved and the workspace assigned to the current connection profile will be loaded.
By default a workspace "remembers" the external files that were loaded. The content of the loaded file will also be stored in the workspace file. This can be configured in the Options dialog.
It is possible to setup variables that are automatically defined when the workspace is loaded. These variables will be removed when the workspace is closed or a different workspace is loaded.
Variables defined in the workspace will overwrite variables defined in the connection profile.